EU grants EUR 182m in flood aid to CEE countries

The finance ministers of EU member states agreed yesterday to provide EUR 182 million in aid from the European Union Solidarity Fund to the countries of Central and Eastern Europe that were hit by perpetual floods past year.

Poland will get the lion’s share with EUR 105 million, followed by Romania (EUR 25 m), Hungary (EUR 22.5m), Slovakia (EUR 20m), Czech Republic (EUR 5m) and also Croatia (approx. EUR 4 million), even though it is still in the EU pre-accession process.

Austria was against granting the aid, together with Belgium, Finland, Latvia and Sweden, while Britain, Slovenia and Portugal sat on the fence by abstaining from the vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.