EU to examine USD 14 fee for travelling to the USA

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has released a statement in which it informs that Slovakia and other EU Member States will examine thoroughly the practical implications of the USA’s decision to charge entry fees to visitors from Europe who no longer need a visa.

The new fee is being charged for the Electronic System of Travel Authorization (ESTA), which the US wants to put into effect from 8 September as part of its visa-free programme. The fee of USD 14 was given the green light by the American Congress in February this year with the aim of covering the costs of the system and to finance a new tourism-promoting agency.

this image is for illustration only

“The shared interest of the EU and the USA should be to ensure the smoothest possible mobility and travel for citizens between the EU and the USA” declared the statement from the ministry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.